إنجازات

المدرسة المحلية ، القسم على نطاق واسع ، وإنجازات ساسكاتشوان

2016 - 2020

صحيح لكلمتي

في عام 2016 ، تم نشر ما يلي علنيًا بشكل عام على موقع Regina Elections:

"أنا آدم هيكس ، وأريد أن أمثلك بصفتك أمين المدرسة العامة للقسم الثالث. وبفعل ذلك ، أعدك بتعمق في قدمي. سأفهم حقًا ما يحدث داخل نظام مدرستنا. يمكننا جميعًا أن نقول "هذا أو ذاك" هو المشكلة ، ولكن مع العناية الواجبة ، سأفهم تمامًا الصورة الأكبر لضمان وصولنا إلى جذور جميع المخاوف.

عندما يتم انتخابي ، لن أكون مجرد اسم آخر على موقع ويب ؛ سترونني أبحث بنشاط عن المعلومات وأجمع الملاحظات في جميع أنحاء المجتمع بأكمله. أعتقد اعتقادًا راسخًا أن أفضل طريقة لمعالجة القضايا هي الحصول على كل المعلومات في متناول اليد ، ثم وضع خطة للتغلب على العقبات. عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتنفيذ ، فقد أثبتت أنني أظهر نتائج قابلة للقياس.

أنا عامل مجتهد وعضو فعال في المجتمع والأهم من ذلك أنه أب متفاني.

بإخلاص،

آدم هيكس "

بعد أربع سنوات ، لا يمكن أن تكون هذه الكلمات أكثر دقة. لقد أثبتت أن التزامي وقيادتي لا يتضاءلان على مر السنين وأنا مستعد للخدمة لمدة أربع سنوات أخرى.

ألقِ نظرة بنفسك على ما كنت أفعله بصفتي ممثلك:

نتائج المدرسة التقسيم الفرعي 3

هل تعلم أن الأمناء يرسلون تحديثات ربع سنوية عن اجتماعاتهم والأحداث التي يحضرونها؟ الق نظرة هنا . ما لا تضعه التقارير في الاعتبار هو مئات الساعات من العمل التحضيري والمكالمات الهاتفية ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني التي تدخل في التحضير لاجتماعات مجلس الإدارة وأعمال المناصرة. يتضمن الملخص عالي المستوى للتقارير ربع السنوية بالنسبة لي ما يلي:

  • 151 اجتماعات وفعاليات مجلس الإدارة

  • 146 اجتماعات وفعاليات مجلس المجتمع المدرسي

  • 112 أحداث الطلاب

  • 92 اجتماعات وفعاليات مجتمعية

  • 89 اجتماعات وفعاليات أصحاب المصلحة

  • 53 أحداث الموظف العام في Regina

  • 30 دورة وفعالية في القيادة أو التدريب

كل هذا يعود إلى الوصي الذي يسعى إلى تجاوز ما هو متوقع في الدور. لقد قمت وسوف أستمر في الذهاب إلى أبعد الحدود في الدور وتقديم صوت قوي لطلابنا وموظفينا وأولياء الأمور.

مدرسة إيكول هاربور لاندينج الابتدائية

  • ساعد بشكل مباشر ونسق الكثير من مبادرات جمع التبرعات للملاعب الجديدة التي جمعنا فيها 100،000 دولار في عام واحد.

  • مدافع قوي لسنوات ، بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر ، يعمل مع جميع أصحاب المصلحة في مدرسة Harbour Landing الثانية ، والتي هي في أمس الحاجة إليها بسبب مشاكل القدرات . بما في ذلك العروض التقديمية للحكومة والمعارضة ، مدينة ريجينا ، والمناقشات مع مطوري الأراضي.

  • تأكد من سماع صوت المجتمع ويمكن للوالدين التعبير عن أفكارهم في مناقشة French Immersion قبل أن يتخذ المجلس قرارًا بنقل البرنامج إلى بيري.

  • دعم المبادرات الجديدة مثل أول رصيف قوس قزح برايد في كندا متصل بمدرسة ابتدائية - رسمت جنبًا إلى جنب مع الطلاب لكلا العامين.

  • حضر وتطوع في العديد من الأحداث المدرسية (ليالي السينما ، والرقصات ، والاحتفالات ، وما إلى ذلك).

Ecole Harbour Landing School

مدرسة د. عبد اللطيف بيري الابتدائية

  • قدموا الخبرة في بداية الكرنفالات ، بما في ذلك احتفال الذكرى السنوية الأربعين للمدرسة.

  • عملت مع قيادة شعبة المدرسة في إجراء تحسينات على المدرسة والتأكد من تحديد الاحتياجات للموظفين.

  • تم الاستماع إلى صوت الطالب وأولياء الأمور وتمثيله أثناء محادثات المجلس مع التغييرات التي تم إجراؤها على Frech Immersion من Harbour Landing.

  • حضر ليالي الأفلام والكرنفالات وفعاليات جمع التبرعات.

Perry.jpg

مدرسة أرجيل الابتدائية

  • شارك بشكل كبير في الدعوة المباشرة وغير المباشرة لمدرسة Argyle and St. Pius Joint Build School الجديدة. لقد شاركت في التخطيط لتصميم مدرسة البناء المشتركة التي تجري الآن مع افتتاح مخطط لها في عام 2023. انقر هنا للحصول على موقع البناء المشترك.

  • نظمت حملة سلامة في منطقة المدرسة مع جهات اتصال وتم التبرع بمعدات تجارية خلال الحملة.

  • حضر العديد من الكرنفالات وليالي الألعاب وحجز الليالي وغيرها من الأحداث الطلابية.

  • دعم وحضر العديد من فعاليات الآباء التي تركز على زيادة مشاركة أولياء الأمور في المدارس.

اثيل مدرسة الابتدائية ميليكين

  • عملت على دعم حملة جمع التبرعات لمساحة التعلم الخارجية. ساعد في توجيه العملية للحصول على بعض التمويل من خلال جمعية المجتمع.

  • ساعد في رفع علم المعاهدة 4 في المدرسة من خلال المبادرة الرئيسية.

  • عملت مع أولياء الأمور عن كثب وقادت المسارات شخصيًا بعد قرار المجلس بتوسيع حدود الحافلات.

  • حضر العديد من الفعاليات بما في ذلك عروض المواهب الطلابية ، وليالي الأفلام ، وليلة اليوجا الصحية وحتى أيام الموظفين مقابل الرياضة للطلاب.

Milliken.jpg

مدرسة ليكفيو الابتدائية

  • دعم واستمر في الدعوة لتحديث المبنى وليس إزالة المبنى التاريخي الجميل الحالي.

  • حضر العديد من الأحداث الطلابية والفعاليات المجتمعية مثل دورات قيادة الطلاب البيئية التي تهدف إلى إعلام الجمهور بمبادرات الاستدامة.

Lakeview Event[2305843009240853899].JPG

مدرسة إيكول كونوت المجتمعية

  • شهدنا الانتهاء من البناء الجديد وساعدنا في الدفاع عن المنقولات الجديدة ، والتي حتى بعد عدم وصول التمويل بالكامل ، دعمت قسمنا في استخدام الاحتياطيات لضمان حصول جميع الطلاب على مساحة مناسبة للتعلم.

  • حضور الفعاليات من ليالي جمع التبرعات إلى التجمعات المجتمعية لحفلات توزيع الجوائز التي تدعم الطلاب.

Connaught.jpg
argyle.png

مدرسة الهلال الابتدائية

  • عملت مع المئات من أصحاب المصلحة ، وقراءة الآلاف من استطلاعات الرأي ، وتوصلت إلى موازنة القرارات بشأن إعادة تسمية Davin إلى Crescents مع ضمان عدم نسيان التاريخ مطلقًا ويمكننا جميعًا التعلم من الماضي. لقد كرست وقتًا إضافيًا لحضور تمارين شاملة متعددة ، وحضور جميع الاجتماعات مع المجلس الاستشاري لشيوخ السكان الأصليين ، وأجريت مناقشات مع الزعماء المحليين للتأكد من أنني أستطيع فهم التاريخ والأضرار التي سببتها الأجيال السابقة.

  • شارك في أيام التنظيف والرقصات المدرسية وغيرها من الأحداث التعليمية في المدرسة.

Crescents.jpg

مدرسة شيلدون ويليامز كوليجيت الثانوية

  • دعم العديد من المبادرات الطلابية بما في ذلك جهود جمع التبرعات لفصول القيادة الخاصة بهم للمجتمع ، حيث جمع الطلاب ما يزيد عن 25000 دولار سنويًا للصحة العقلية وأسباب أخرى في المدينة.

  • أقامت وجبة إفطار على شكل فطيرة وردية لجميع الطلاب دعماً ليوم مكافحة التنمر.

  • المساهمة بأموال لمنحة القيادة المجتمعية الطلابية.

  • حضر العديد من مسرحيات الطلاب والعروض والألعاب الرياضية وليالي الوالدين.

C0072T01.JPG
 

ريجينا العامة

شعبة المدرسة

لقد تشرفت بالحصول على ثقة زملائي الأمناء وعمل نائبًا لرئيس Regina Public خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية . في حالة إعادة انتخابي ، سأسعى لمنصب الرئيس في نوفمبر 2020. على مدار العامين الماضيين ، كنت:

  • رئيس لجنة التدقيق وإدارة المخاطر. و

  • عضو لجنة التخطيط والسياسات. و

  • عضو المجلس الاستشاري للسكان الأصليين ؛ و

  • ثلاث سنوات في لجنة الاتصال لمجلس مدرسة ريجينا ؛ و

  • التزمنا لمدة عامين كممثل للقسم العام بمجالسنا في SSBA.

أنا أبحث بنشاط عن فرص للتواصل مع مجتمعنا عبر قسم المدرسة بأكمله. من حضور احتفالات جائزة القدرة على الصمود للسكان الأصليين ، وفعاليات الكبرياء ، وأحداث اليوم الوردي ، ومعارض العلوم والتراث ، والتحكيم في مسابقات المناظرة ، والمشاركة في powwows ، والفعاليات الثقافية المختلفة ، وفعاليات جمع التبرعات من الأقسام لبرامج محو الأمية الصيفية ، وتنظيم وإدارة حملات جمع التبرعات الليلية للرسم المدرسي ، وكل شيء في ما بين. سيستمر هذا التفاني إذا أعيد انتخابه في 9 نوفمبر 2020.

فيما يلي بعض النقاط البارزة المحددة لمشاركتي على مدار السنوات الأربع الماضية:

شفافية مجلس مدرسة ريجينا العامة

قدمت الاقتراح لأول مرة في 14 فبراير 2017 لزيادة الشفافية في اجتماعاتنا العامة ولكن تم رفضه. صوت أربعة أمناء بالنفي وامتنع اثنان عن التصويت (تم تغيير هذا منذ ذلك الحين بحيث لا يمكن لأحد الامتناع عن التصويت في المستقبل). للاطلاع على تفاصيل التصويت ، ألق نظرة على محضر الاجتماع بالنقر هنا .

لم أستسلم ، وبعد سبعة أشهر فقط ، عملت مع زملائي من الأمناء لتنفيذ البث المباشر في نهاية المطاف مع جميع الاجتماعات العامة لمجلس مدرسة Regina Public School! وشفافية أكثر من اللوحات الأخرى ، لدينا جميع مقاطع الفيديو التي يمكن تشغيلها في أي وقت والنقر هنا لمشاهدة الاجتماعات السابقة .

برنامج رحلة الصف

هل تعلم في عام 2017 ، كان هناك ما يقرب من 3024 رحلة صفية مأخوذة من مدارس ريجينا العامة والتي مثلت أكثر من 200000 دولار في التكاليف. يتم دفع هذه التكاليف من قبل الآباء ومجالس المجتمع المدرسي (SCC) وميزانيات المدارس المحلية. رأيت فرصة مع Councilour Stephens لاستخدام السعة المحدودة للحافلات خلال الساعات من 9:00 صباحًا إلى 3:00 مساءً ، وتوفير الآلاف من الآباء كل عام ، دون أي تكاليف إضافية لمدينة Regina.

كنت أعتقد أن هذه كانت شراكة سلام دانك ، لكن واو ، لقد استيقظت بسرعة كبيرة. كان هناك الكثير من التراجع غير الضروري من مجلس مدينة ريجينا ولم يكن متوقعًا على الإطلاق. ألق نظرة على مقطع الفيديو الخاص بالعرض التقديمي بالنقر هنا (انتقل إلى حوالي الساعة 1:55:00 في التسجيل) أو راجع مقالة Leader-Post هنا . تم التصويت عليها من قبل المدينة في هذا الوقت ، لكن رغبتي في المضي قدمًا استمرت.

والأكثر إثارة للاهتمام ، أنه بعد عام ، تم تنفيذ البرنامج وهو يوفر حاليًا 10000 دولار من آلاف الدولارات وانظر هنا للحصول على تفاصيل البرنامج ، مما يثبت أن المخاوف الأولية لا أساس لها من الصحة.

ربط SCC لدينا

هل دت اجتماعات كبيرة SCC تربط المدارس وتساعد في تنسيق تبادل أفضل الممارسات فيما بينها. ساعد في تشكيل مجموعة Facebook مجتمعية لجميع SCCs للمشاركة والتواصل مع ما يقرب من 200 عضو SCC على ذلك يتشاركون المعلومات مع بعضهم البعض.

النقل المشترك

كانت لدينا ميزانية صعبة للغاية في عام 2018 وكان علينا إيجاد أكثر من 9 ملايين دولار ، والتي أدت مع قسم مدرستنا إلى تخفيضات كبيرة في أكبر عدد ممكن من المجالات خارج الفصول الدراسية. و 1.7 مليون دولار كانت بمثابة تخفيض لميزانية النقل بعد ذلك ، حددت هدفًا للتوجيه والدعوة للحافلات المشتركة مع قسم مدرسة ريجينا الكاثوليكية لتوفير النفقات بشكل مشترك. منذ هذا الوقت ، كانت هناك تطبيقات متعددة للنقل المشترك بالحافلات ، وفي حالة إعادة انتخابي ، سأستمر في الدعوة إلى المزيد من الطرق لتكون مشتركة.

أدخل إدارة مخاطر الجائزة

بناءً على خبراتي ومعارفي السابقة ، قمت بتوجيه أول نظام لإدارة مخاطر الأقسام على الإطلاق. هناك عمل ينبغي القيام به ولكن نحن في طريقنا لإدارة المخاطر الشعبة في إجراء استباقي في الشراكة بين الإدارة والمجلس.

دعم ومناصرة مدرسة جنوب شرق ريجينا الثانوية المشتركة

لقد ضغطت من أجل هذا لتخفيف الضغط عن المدارس الأخرى في المدينة التي لديها أو من المتوقع أن تزيد طاقتها الإنتاجية في السنوات الخمس المقبلة. انظر المقال هنا .

Pr ID التصويت

إذا كنت من مدينة ريجينا ، فمن المحتمل أنك تعرف كل شيء عن هذا . كنت أحد الأمناء الثلاثة الذين صوتوا لصالح اقتراح Trustee Young ويمكن الاطلاع على المحضر هنا . لقد واصلت العمل مع مدارسنا للشفاء من الضرر الذي حدث في تلك الأيام ، ودعمت لجنة التنوع التي تم تشكيلها وقدمت تقريرًا بالإجراءات لمجلس الإدارة. في حالة إعادة انتخابي ، سأعمل على ضمان تنفيذ هذه التوصيات داخل قسمنا وأخذها كأولوية في العام الدراسي المقبل.

زيادة آثار الاتصال

بعد تصويت الكبرياء ، دعمت اقتراح Trustee Ekong لزيادة تحليل الاتصالات ولضمان تزويد الأمناء بجميع المعلومات الضرورية قبل إجراء التصويت. انظر هنا لمقالة الأخبار .

صوت الطالب على Regina Public

لقد حاولت مرتين وقدمت اقتراحًا إلى المجلس للحصول على صوت طالب في مجلس مدرسة Regina العامة ، وكلاهما لم يتم التصويت عليه مطلقًا. بينما يقوم قسمنا بعدد من أحداث المشاركة الفريدة ويدمج صوت الطالب ، سأستمر في العمل على حل في السنوات القليلة القادمة لضمان وجود عملية رسمية للحصول على صوت متسق لطلابنا في الواجهة الأمامية لمناقشات السياسة.

مشاركة المواطنين في الميزانيات

لقد قدمت اقتراحًا في عام 2017 لجمع وتحليل الصوت العام تجاه ميزانياتنا. لم يتم طرحه للتصويت ولكني لم أنس أهمية إشراك الموظفين وأولياء الأمور وحتى الطلاب في إشراك الطلاب في عملية الميزانية.

هناك العديد من العناصر الأخرى التي عملت عليها ، ويجب أن أقول إنني سأكون منبهرًا إذا وصلت إلى هذا الحد في الموقع. إذا كنت ترغب في مزيد من الدردشة ، أرسل لي رسالة ويمكننا الجلوس لمناقشة المزيد.

 

تعليم ساسكاتشوان

لقد كنت نشطًا على المستوى المحلي ، ولكنني أيضًا نشط على مستوى المقاطعات مع اجتماعات جمعية مجالس مدارس ساسكاتشوان (SSBA) وأعمال المناصرة. لقد حضرت اجتماع الخريف الرئيسي لمدة 3 أيام في جميع السنوات الأربع من ولايتي.

تمويل شخصي:

في خريف عام 2017 ، قدمت اقتراحًا أولاً إلى مجلس الإدارة ، والذي أقر بموجبه مطالبة المقاطعة بضمان وجود فصل مالي شخصي متاح لجميع طلاب المدارس الثانوية في جميع أنحاء المقاطعة. لقد قدمت الكثير من المناصرة ، وأنتجت مقاطع فيديو ، وفي النهاية ، تلقيت أكثر من 90٪ تصويتًا بالقبول من جميع مجالس المدارس السبعة والعشرين في جميع أنحاء المقاطعة.

اليوم ، كل مدرسة ثانوية في جميع أنحاء المقاطعة لديها فصل مالي شخصي متاح!

حركات أخرى

قليل من الآخرين الذين قدمتهم ودافعت عنهم هم:

  • "يكون قد تقرر أن تطلب SSBA من وزارة التعليم الشروع في سياسة لتوحيد ديون مجلس الإدارة." لقد قمت شخصياً بتحليل واكتشفت أنه يمكن أن يكون هناك قدر كبير من الكفاءة والمدخرات مع توحيد القروض المختلفة التي تحتفظ بها مجالس المدارس. فقط مع Regina Public وقروضنا الرأسمالية القليلة ، تمكنت من تحليل المدخرات التي يمكن أن تصل إلى مئات الآلاف ، إن لم يكن الملايين. بينما تم تمرير الاقتراحات ، قررت وزارة التعليم أنه في حين أن المدخرات ستكون موجودة ، إلا أنه لم يكن ممكنًا في هذا الوقت بسبب اعتبارات سياسية وقانونية أخرى.

  • سيتم مشاركة اقتراح الرواتب والنفقات لـ SSBA Executive مع جميع المجالس التمثيلية ، وقد أدى ذلك إلى مشاركتها مرتين في السنة لمزيد من المساعدة في الشفافية مع SS BA.

  • قاتلوا لضمان أن فقط أولئك الذين اجتازوا اختبارات السجلات يمكنهم الترشح لمجالس المدرسة. تم تمرير هذا من قبل 28 مجالس مدرسة ولكن لا يزال يترك للمجالس الفردية لإنفاذها. يسعدني أن أقول إن مجلس الإدارة قبل اقتراحي ونحن الآن نضمن أن جميع المرشحين المستقبليين يجب أن يجتازوا فحص السجل الجنائي مع فحص القطاع الضعيف أيضًا.

اختر A Premier

شخصيا س rganized وأجرت واحد على واحد ومقابلات مع جميع المرشحين حزب Sask والحزب الحاكم خلال عطاءاتهم قيادة الحزب في عام 2018، بما في ذلك سكوت مو وريان ميلى. لقد جعلتهم جميعًا مسؤولين عن السير في منصاتهم وشرحهم لدعم قطاع التعليم. ألق نظرة على مقاطع الفيديو إذا كنت مهتمًا بالضغط على الاسم أدناه:

All Candidates2.png

Achievements

Local School, Division Wide, and Saskatchewan Achievements

2016 - 2020

True to My Word

In 2016, the following was my public submission publically posted on the Regina Elections website:

"I'm Adam Hicks, and I want to represent you as the Public School Trustee for Subdivision 3.  In doing so, I promise to dig my feet in deep.  I will truly understand what's happening within our school system.  We can all say 'this or that' is the issue, but with my due diligence, I will fully understand the larger picture to ensure we get to the root of all concerns.

When elected, I won't just be another name on a website; you will see me actively seeking information and gathering feedback throughout the entire community.  I strongly believe the best way to address issues is to have all of the information on hand, then devise a plan to overcome obstacles.  When it comes to execution, I have proven to show measurable results.

I am a hard worker, an active community member, and most importantly a dedicated father.

Sincerely,

Adam Hicks"

Four years later, these words could not be more accurate.  I have proven my commitment and drive do not dwindle over the years and I am ready to serve for another four years.

Take a look for yourself what I have been up to as your representative:

Subdivision 3 School Results

Did you know Trustees submit quarterly updates on their meetings and events they attend?  Take a look here.  What the reports don't account for are the hundreds of hours of prep work, phone calls and emails that go into preparing for Board Meetings and advocacy work.  A high-level summary of the quarterly reports for me involves:

  • 151 Board Meetings and Events

  • 146 School Community Council Meetings and Events

  • 112 Student Events

  • 92 Community Meetings and Events

  • 89 Stakeholder Meetings and Events

  • 53 Regina Public Employee Events

  • 30 Leadership or Training Sessions and Events

All of this comes down to a Trustee who strives to go above and beyond what is expected in the role.  I have and will continue to go above and beyond in the role and provide a strong voice for our students, staff, and parents.

 

Ecole Harbour Landing Elementary School

  • Directly helped and coordinated a lot of the fundraising initiatives for the new playgrounds in which we raised $100,000 in one year.

  • A strong advocate for years, directly and indirectly, working with all stakeholders on the second Harbour Landing school, which is in dire need due to capacity issues.  This including presentations to government and opposition, City of Regina, discussions with the land developers. 

  • Ensured community voice was heard and parents could express thoughts into the French Immersion discussion before the Board made the decision to move the program to Perry.

  • Supported new initiatives such as the first rainbow Pride sidewalk in Canada connected to an Elementary School - painted alongside the students for both years.

  • Attended and volunteered at numerous school events (movie nights, dances, celebrations, etc.).

Ethel Milliken Elementary School

  • Worked on supporting the outdoor learning space fundraising campaign.  Helped guide the process to receive some funding through the Community Association.

  • Helped raise the Treaty 4 Flag at the school with the principal lead initiative.

  • Worked with parents closely and drove personally drove routes after the Board decision to expand bussing boundaries.

  • Attended numerous events including student talent shows, movie nights, a wellness yoga night and even staff vs. students' sports days.

Lakeview Elementary School

 

  • Support and continue advocacy for a refresh of the building and not a removal of the current beautiful historical building.  

  • Attended many student events and community events such as the environmental student lead sessions meant to inform the public on sustainability initiatives.  

Dr. A.E. Perry Elementary School

  • Provided expertise on the beginning of their carnivals, including the 40 year school anniversary carnival.

  • Worked with School Division Leadership in getting improvements done to the school and ensuring the needs were identified to staff.

  • Listened to and represented student and parent voice during Board conversations with the changes to Frech Immersion moving from Harbour Landing.

  • Attended movie nights, carnivals and fundraiser events.  

Argyle Elementary School

 

  • Heavily involved in direct and indirect advocacy for a new Argyle and St. Pius Joint Build School.  I was involved in the planning of the design of the joint build school which is now underway with a planned opening in 2023.  Click here for the joint build website.

  • Organized a school zone safety blitz with contacts and had commercial equipment donated during the campaign.  

  • Attended multiple carnivals, game nights, book nights and other student events.

  • Supported and attended various parent events focused on increasing parent engagement in schools.

Crescents Elementary School

  • Worked with hundreds of stakeholders, read thousands of survey submissions, and came to balance decisions on the renaming of Davin to Crescents while still ensuring the history will never be forgotten and we all can learn from the past.  I dedicated extra time to attend multiple blanket exercises, attend all meetings with our Indigenous Elders Advisory Council, and had discussions with local Chiefs to ensure I could grasp the history and damage that has been caused by past generations.

  • Participated in clean up days, school dances and other learning events at the school.

​Ecole Connaught Community School

  • Witnessed the new build finalized and helped advocate for the new portables, in which even after funding did not fully come through, supported our Division in using reserves to ensure all students had proper space to learn.

  • Attended events from fundraising nights to community potlucks to award ceremonies supporting the students.

Sheldon-Williams Collegiate High School

 

  • Supported many student initiatives including their leadership classes fundraising efforts for the community, in which students have raised upwards of $25,000 a year for mental health and other causes in the city.

  • Held a pink pancake breakfast for all the students in support of Anti-Bullying Day.

  • Contributed funds to a Student Community Leadership Scholarship.

  • Attended numerous student plays, performances, sports games, and parent nights.

 

Regina Public

School Division

I have been honoured to have the trust of fellow Trustees and serve as Vice-Chair of the Regina Public for the last three years.  If re-elected, I will seek the role of Chair in November 2020.  For the past couple of years, I have been:

  • Chair of the Audit & Risk Management Committee; and

  • Member of the Planning & Policy Committee; and

  • Member of the Indigenous Advisory Council; and

  • Three years on the City of Regina School Board Liason Committee; and

  • Committed two years as our Boards Public Section Representative for the SSBA.

 

I am actively looking for opportunities to connect to our community across the entire School Division.  From attending Indigenous Resilience Award ceremonies, Pride events, Pink Day Events, Science & Heritage Fairs, judging debate competitions, participating in powwows, various cultural events, Division fundraising events for summer literacy programs, organizing and running school paint night fundraisers, and everything in between.  This dedication will continue if re-elected on November 9, 2020.

Here are some specific highlights of my involvement over the past four years:

Transparency of the Regina Public School Board

I first introduced the motion on February 14, 2017, to increase transparency to our public meetings but was defeated.  Four Trustees voted no and two abstained (this has since been changed so no one can abstain in future votes).  To see the details of the vote, take a look at the meeting minutes by clicking here.

 

I didn't give up though and only seven months later, I had worked with fellow Trustees to eventually get the live streaming implemented with all Regina Public School Board public meetings!  And even more transparency than other Boards, we have all videos that can be played back at any time and click here to see past meetings.

Transparency in voting is also important.  It was a practice of the Regina Public Board to not record Trustee votes in the past and abstaining from a vote was possible.  Work on the Planning & Policy Committee took place and we set in place a new motion that would update our Board policies to make voting mandatory for all Trustees and that every vote in the future would be a recorded one.  The was passed at the May 28, 2019 Board Meeting.

Class Trip Program

Did you know in 2017, there were approximately 3,024 class trips taken from Regina Public Schools which represented over $200,000 in costs.  These costs are paid for by parents, School Community Councils (SCC), and local school budgets.  I saw an opportunity with Councilour Stephens to use the limited capacity of the busses during the hours of 9:00 am to 3:00 pm, and save parents thousands every year, with no extra costs for the City of Regina.

I had thought this was a slam dunk partnership, but wow was I was woken up pretty quick.  There was a lot of unnecessary pushback from the City of Regina Council and was not expected at all.  Take a look at the video of the presentation by clicking here (skip to about 1:55:00 in the recording) or see the Leader-Post article here.  It was voted down by the City at this time, but my desire to push forward continued.

More interestingly, a year later, the program was implemented and is currently saving $10,000's of thousands and see here for the program details, proving that the initial concerns were unfounded.

Connecting our SCC's

Held large SCC meetings connecting schools and helping coordinate the sharing of best practises among them.  Helped form a community Facebook group for all SCCs to share and connect on with close to 200 SCC members on it that share information with each other.

Joint Transportation

We had an extremely tough budget in 2018 and had to find over $9 million dollars, which with our School Division, came down to large cuts in as many areas as we could outside of the classrooms.  And $1.7 million was a cut to our transportation budget.  After this, I made it a goal to direct and advocate for Joint Bussing with Regina Catholic School Division to jointly save expenses.  Since this time, there have been multiple implementations of joint bussing and if re-elected, I will continue to advocate for more routes to be joint.

Enterprise Risk Management

Based on my past experiences and knowledge, I directed the first-ever Division Risk Management System.  There is work to do but we are well on our way to managing Division risks in a proactive measure in partnership between Administration and the Board.

 

Supporting and Advocating for a Joint South East Regina High School

I have been pushing for this to relieve pressure off other schools in the city that are at or expected to overcapacity in the next five years.  See the article here.

Pride Vote

If you are from the City of Regina, you probably know all about this one.  I was one of the three Trustees that did vote in favour of Trustee Young's motion and the minutes can be seen here. I have continued work with our schools to heal the damage that was done on those days, and have supported the Diversity Committee that was formed and provided a report of actions for the Board.  If re-elected, I will work to ensure these recommendations are implemented within our Division and taken as a priority in the next School Year.

Increased Communication Implications

Following the Pride Vote, I supported Trustee Ekong's motion to increase the analysis of communications and to ensure Trustees are provided all the necessary information before a vote takes place.  See here for the news article.

 

Student Voice on Regina Public

I have tried twice and submitted a motion to the Board to have a student voice on the Regina Public School Board, both of which never made it to a vote.  While our Division does a number of unique engagement events and incorporates student's voice, I will continue working on a solution in the next few years to ensure there is a formal process to have consistent voice of our students at the front end of the policy discussions.

Citizen Engagement in Budgets

I submitted a motion in 2017 for the collection and analysis of public voice towards our budgets.  It was not put to vote but I have not forgotten about the importance of including staff, parents, and even students in engaging students in the budget process.

 

There are so many other items I have worked on, and have to say I would be impressed if you made it this far in the website.  If you want to chat further, send me a message and we can sit down to discuss more.
 

 

Saskatchewan Education

I have been active at a local level, but also active at a Provincial level with the Saskatchewan School Boards Association (SSBA) meetings and advocacy work.  I have attended the main 3-day Fall Assembly in all four years from of my term.

Personal Finance:

Fall of 2017, I submitted a motion first to our Board, which passed in which was requesting the Province to ensure there is a personal finance class available for all high school students across the province.  I put forth a lot of advocacy, produced videos and in the end, received over 90% vote of acceptance from all 27 School Boards across the province. 

Today, every single high school across the Province has a personal finance class available!

Other Motions

Afew others I presented and advocated for were:

 

  • "Be It Resolved that the SSBA request that the Ministry of Education initiate a policy for Board debt consolidation."  I personally analyzed and discovered that there could be significant efficiency and savings with consolidating the various loans held by School Boards.  Just with Regina Public and our few capital loans, I was able to analyze savings could be in the hundreds of thousands, if not millions.  While the motions passed, it was determined by the Ministry of Education that while the savings would be there, it was not feasible at this time due to other policy and legal considerations.

  • Motion for salaries and expenses for the SSBA Executive to be shared with all representative boards and this resulted in these being shared twice a year to further help with transparency with the SSBA.

  • Fought to ensure only those that passed record checks could run for school boards.  This was passed by the 28 School Boards but was still left to individual Boards to enforce.  I am happy to say that our Board accepted my motion and we now ensure that all future candidates must pass a Criminal Record Check with a Vulnerable Sector Check as well.

 

Pick A Premier

Personally organized and conducted one-on-one interviews with all Sask Party and NDP candidates during their party leadership bids in 2018, including Scott Moe and Ryan Meili.  I held them all accountable to walk through and explain their platforms for the support of the education sector.  Take a look at the videos if you are interested by clicking on the name below:

 
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

Adam Hicks, Vice-Chairperson

Regina Public School Board

Trustee for Subdivision Three

adam.hicks.regina@outlook.com

We all Benefit from an Educated Society!